Larva HEXBUG Review & Giveaway!

by Mama Chocolate on March 8, 2012

*review by Janelle P.
       (also blogging now at Mother Necessity!)

HEXBUGs are all the rage with kids these days. I had seen them in the store, but didn’t really know much about them.

I requested the Larva HEXBUG as it seemed the most appropriate bug for my 14 month old (the one with the least moving parts!). They are recommended for children age 8 and older, but we were able to play with the Larva together very safely.

HEXBUGs are robotic creatures made to mimic real-life bug movements and give children “a positive experience with robotics at an early age”.  I must say they have met their goals, especially the life-like part.

We received a orange and a green Larva HEXBUG along with some extra batteries. I decided to try these out after Angelo went to bed because I was curious what they would do. I almost screamed and probably would have if Angelo wasn’t in bed already! They actually move like real worms! Don’t believe me? Check out their video!

I would have to say worms in any form are one of my least favorite bugs to come in contact with. I actually had to work up the courage to pick the Larva up and turn it off. I’m pretty certain most 5-7+ year olds fascinated with bugs will love and adore HEXBUGs. In fact, I’m pretty sure I would have loved them when I was that age (I collected worms then- my, how the tables have turned).

I was impressed with how fast they move, and that they work on carpet and hard surfaces. The Larva does exactly what it says it should: it wiggles and slithers and avoids obstacles without needing to touch them.


I tried them out with Angelo. I was curious to see what he would think given he doesn’t have much experience with bugs yet. First, I let him hold and play with them while they were turned off. He like that and examined them closely.

Then, I turned one on and let it go. At first he was interested but very alert (the bug moves pretty fast). Then he looked at me, and I’m pretty sure he saw me squirming when the bug came toward me. He decided he was done.

I tried again later in a larger area and made myself pretend they were cute fun little creatures and no big deal. He was wary of them at first but relaxed pretty quickly. I almost got him to pick one up, but he decided no go at the last second.

All in all, I think the Larva bug works great as I’m sure all the HEXBUGs do. It’s definitely realistic, well made, and icky! I would recommend them for kids a bit older than Angelo, especially those bug collector and robot crazed types. I’m sure we’ll end up with more of these creepy crawlies when Angelo gets a bit older.

Connect with HEXBUG on Facebook and Twitter!

*Please note that the Larva HEXBUG is recommended by HEXBUG for children ages 8 years and older. Younger children should be closely supervised by an adult at all times.

 HEXBUG is generously giving one lucky Mama Chocolate reader their very own Larva HEXBUG!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

{ 64 comments… read them below or add one }

Candice Martey March 8, 2012 at 10:41 am

I think my 6 year old nephew will love this his birthday is coming up.


jodi lasher March 8, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I will be giving this to the little boy that i babysit for


Kristin Sawatzke March 8, 2012 at 1:49 pm

I would play this with my kids!


Mary Michaud March 8, 2012 at 2:13 pm

my munchkin – he would love it!


Tandra Ahrens March 8, 2012 at 2:17 pm

my son! (and me!) he is totally intrigued by bugs. And loves worms =)


Cat March 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm

These look so fun that I think we would ALL play, including my husband and I!


Andrea Kruse March 8, 2012 at 5:06 pm

I will definitely get my turn, but my son and daughter will have to share!
andrea.kruse at gmail dot com
Andrea Kruse recently posted..Homemade Meat Sauce #Recipe – March Crazy Cooking ChallengeMy Profile


Jennifer Rogers March 8, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Lilly, the crawler of the house right now


Robert F March 8, 2012 at 6:37 pm

If I win, my daughter would be playing with the Hexbug


Stephanie Klemm March 8, 2012 at 8:11 pm

My son would love it!


Erinn A March 8, 2012 at 8:51 pm

My 3 1/2 year old has 2 and the Hbitat and LOVES them!
Erinn A recently posted..Free Birthday Card…Hurry!My Profile


Michele Behlen March 8, 2012 at 10:12 pm

My grandson loves bugs.


nickie March 9, 2012 at 6:05 am

My son would love this!

nickieisis3 (at) gmail (dot) com


Becky Worthman March 9, 2012 at 7:45 am

My nephew most likely. :D or, I am expecitng, and if we find out it’s a boy, I may keep it.


Paula Tavernie March 9, 2012 at 10:34 am

My grandson will love playing with this bug!!


Rebecca Graham March 9, 2012 at 1:42 pm

I will give this to my nephew.


Michelle March 9, 2012 at 6:12 pm

My son! He asked for some for Christmas but Santa didn’t bring him any.


Danielle Davis/Grady March 11, 2012 at 12:48 pm

My 2 oldest boys :)
Thank you!


Teresa Young March 13, 2012 at 6:00 pm

my grandson


Carolyn Ann Colley (Griffith, Smith) March 13, 2012 at 10:39 pm

My grandchildren will play with this if I win it.
thanks for the giveaway
NOTE: I’m having some problems with my twitter account so I had 2 that I could not follow, maybe I can have it fixed soon.


Michele P. March 14, 2012 at 7:20 am

my grandson will be playing with it..


Nicole Hale March 14, 2012 at 8:14 am

All of my children will be playing with it! (Including the big kid – daddy!)


Angie M March 14, 2012 at 9:29 am

My 2 year old daughter would LOVE this!


Angela W March 14, 2012 at 4:20 pm

My son would love the hexbug larvae


Mary Baker March 15, 2012 at 6:56 pm

If I win I will be playing with it! (Okay, maybe the Grandkids too…)


Monica Tompkins (@mnjsponsoredwed) March 16, 2012 at 7:56 am

My 5 year old son


♡♥♬ Louis ♬♥♡ March 16, 2012 at 7:59 am

I would love to win for my daughters

Thank you for hosting this giveaway

pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com


Rita Spratlen March 17, 2012 at 1:44 pm

This would be for grandson or niece.


Terra Heck March 19, 2012 at 11:18 pm

My 12 year old son would play with it. Thanks.


Tara Liebing March 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Me my son and our cat will play with it


Missy Lynnh March 20, 2012 at 6:53 pm

This would be for my daughter!


Jenette March 21, 2012 at 7:17 am

My two boys would love these!


Gianna March 23, 2012 at 12:18 am

For my son..


Amylynn H March 24, 2012 at 10:48 am

My boys would be playing with this if I won!


jenn March 24, 2012 at 11:14 pm

My sweet little girl loves these


lisa March 26, 2012 at 12:14 pm

my kids love ‘em!!


Kathy Davis March 27, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Me …. and my grandchild will be playing with these Hex Bugs.


novak March 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm

The idea is for my grandchildren to play with them but I have a feeling that their parents and my husband are going to enjoy them just as much if not more!!! They are really cool…


Jill March 28, 2012 at 6:44 am

My daughter absolutely loves these.


tamar March 28, 2012 at 11:49 am

My son and soon to be born little one. I think I would play with it too :)

And might I say your little guy is SO ADORABLE.


Stacey P (cosaver213) March 28, 2012 at 12:45 pm

My nephew would be playing with this.


Leslie Luke Stanziani March 28, 2012 at 5:46 pm

I could see all 4 of my kids(well 5 if you count the hubby) playing with it.Thanks!


Heather S March 28, 2012 at 6:32 pm

my nephew would love this


Steve Stone March 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm

my son jake will play with this.


amy deeter March 28, 2012 at 7:42 pm

my daughter


Penny B W March 28, 2012 at 7:57 pm

My little boy loves Hexbugs and would love to have a Larva!


Peter March 28, 2012 at 8:39 pm



Shaunda Eppes March 28, 2012 at 9:14 pm

This would be for my son.


Theron Willis March 28, 2012 at 9:27 pm

My two daughters.


Stephanie belmarez March 29, 2012 at 5:33 am

My 6 & 7 year olds will be


kathy pease March 29, 2012 at 6:52 am

this would be for my niece


Linda March 29, 2012 at 7:11 am

My grandson will be playing with this


Amanda M March 29, 2012 at 7:27 am

my son


Susan Ladd March 29, 2012 at 8:14 am

My grandson Nich would be playing w/ the HEXBUG. I want to thank you for this awesome sweep and hope to win :)


Nicole C. March 29, 2012 at 10:07 am

My nephew would be playing with it!


edq143 March 29, 2012 at 10:28 am

enter me thanks


Kendra Gillilan March 29, 2012 at 11:20 am

my youngest son loves them !


Lisa L March 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm

This would be great for my son!


meme March 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm

this would be for my 3 kids


Helen March 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm

My little girl would love these!


Heather R March 29, 2012 at 6:19 pm

My daughter would love to play with this hexbug


shirley pebbles March 29, 2012 at 6:54 pm

I would give this to my niece.

fb/ shirley greenawalt zolenski
twitter, gfc, stumble/ daveshir2005
google +/ shirley pebbles


Melissa March 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

My 3 and 4 year olds will be fighting over…er…playing with this super cool thing!

casadelreed at embarQmail dot com


trixx March 29, 2012 at 8:40 pm

This would be for my nephew


Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: