Nellie’s All-Natural Washing Soda Review

by Mama Chocolate on June 13, 2012

As a cloth-diapering mama, I always look for laundry soap that is free of perfumes, dyes and other unnecessary and even harmful chemicals. I don’t want all those nasties on my babies’ bums and I don’t want it building up in my diapers, eventually causing possible absorbency issues and more.

I’ve searched the shelves in the grocery stores, and you pretty much can’t find laundry detergent with those qualifications, so I have turned to online sources, where I just recently learned about Nellie’s All-Natural Laundry Soda.

It’s hypoallergenic, leaves clothes soft, fresh and residue free. Most of the laundry detergents that you find on the shelves today are mostly just filler. You think you’re getting an awesome deal on a huge box or tub of soap, but in reality, you’re paying for a bunch of extra nothing, (or worse, a bunch of extra chemicals.)

Nellie’s All-Natural Laundry Soda is a concentrated, filler-free formula, meaning you only need one tablespoon per wash to get your clothes perfectly clean, even for large loads! Besides saving you money, this reduces packaging waste and makes it more economical for you to purchase online than other brands, (it’s not as heavy to ship!)

You can purchase the Laundry Soda in 50-load bags for $9.99 each, or, to save even more money, buy the huge, 1101-load bucket for $124.95 (plus about $15 shipping.) This comes out to be about 12.5 cents per load, which, compared to other brand-name, chemical-filled laundry soaps is crazy-cheap!

You can also purchase the smaller bag sizes from Amazon if you’d like to take advantage of free-shipping perks with your Amazon account:



I have used another brand of unscented, hypoallergenic laundry powder and was mostly content with it. But I love how well Nellie’s dissolves quickly and completely, even in cold water washes! My other detergent will often leave undissolved granules on the clothes in a cold-water wash and I’d have to run another rinse cycle or two to get rid of it all…not with Nellie’s! I will definitely be keeping some handy at all times now for my cold-water laundry!

Learn more about the simple ingredients and benefits of Nellie’s All-Natural Laundry Soda from their blog, and discover the rest of Nellie’s All-Natural products, including dishwasher detergent and more!

Like Nellie’s on Facebook to keep up with the latest news and sales events!

Leave a comment here on this review post for extra entries and then head over to enter the Fluffy Butts Cloth Diaper giveaway prize package to win your own 50-load bag of Nellie’s!

Hurry! The Fluffy Butts hop ends Friday, June 15th!

{ 39 comments… read them below or add one }

Kristin June 14, 2012 at 6:02 am

I’d love to win – thanks for the chance!


Dandi D June 14, 2012 at 7:39 am

I still haven’t found a detergent that I really like for my diapers. This is one I haven’t tried though.


Amy L. Norman June 14, 2012 at 8:46 am

I make my own detergent, but sometimes worry about the Borax.


sara D June 14, 2012 at 8:55 am

I wash with cold & my homemade soap doesn’t always dissolve…
I want to try this.
I like the ingredients & if it really dissolves in cold water, saving me an extra rinse cycle…. yes please???


Danielle June 14, 2012 at 9:29 am

The awesome vintage packaging is enough to make me wanna buy it!
Danielle recently posted..Stuffed Patty Pan SquashMy Profile


Ashley Suzanne June 14, 2012 at 10:04 am

I love Nellies! Did yours have the peppermint scent to it? When I opened it up it almost blew me away! I love how it keeps the clothes free of smell!


Toby June 14, 2012 at 11:09 am

Sounds like a winner this product! :D


Rachel C. June 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

Only 1 tablespoon to wash?! That sounds great!!


Christine M Tubbytelly June 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

I always check amazon for my baby (and everything!) needs.
Christine M Tubbytelly recently posted..Summer CASH Blast – Win $50 Amazon or PaypalMy Profile


Nikole H. June 14, 2012 at 12:26 pm

I’m currently finishing up a bag of another CD detergent/soap, but when that one is done, I’ll be trying this brand next — thanks for making the introduction :)


Rachel N June 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Good to know that it works for cold washes too, my natural detergent needs warm water to work.


Kristi D June 14, 2012 at 1:44 pm

I think I’m going to have to try this. I use the earthiest soap from the grocery store, but I’m not crazy about the chemicals, still. I used to use soap nuts, and thinking of trying some other options.


Sarah Jane June 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm

I like how you wrote Nellies dissolves well; the detergent I currently use, does not.
Sarah Jane recently posted..How Do I See Myself at the End of the Year {Summer #BlogChallenge}My Profile


Katie B. of June 14, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Did you know you can use that washing soda to make your own dishwasher detergent, too? :)
Katie B. of recently posted..How To Eat More Vegetables: 10 IdeasMy Profile


Jessica June 14, 2012 at 4:18 pm

I haven’t tried Nellies yet, but it sounds great. I would love to see how it works on our cloth diapers


Brittany C. June 14, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I still need detergent for my diapers! I would love to try this :)


Maria Ivey June 14, 2012 at 6:20 pm

I’m still haven’t found the perfect detergent for our diapers and would love to give this one a try!


Momma Momo June 14, 2012 at 6:43 pm

I love Nellies, I use the oxygen bleach the most :)
Momma Momo recently posted..BumbleBum Baby Sponsor Spotlight & Giveaway!My Profile


Saba @ Less is More (Fun) June 14, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Still trying to find the perfect CD detergent – definitely need to give this one a try!


Audrey Jensen June 14, 2012 at 7:12 pm

This seems like it will be better than what I’m currently using. Off to order some now!


Ashley O June 14, 2012 at 7:16 pm

I LOVE soap that works well in cold water! It has taken me a while to find good detergent for CDs, so this one might be worth a try!


Danialle Meyers June 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Only 1 tbsp per load? That’s awesome. They should make scented laundry soap, too!


Amy R. Smith June 14, 2012 at 9:03 pm

I, like a lot of the other posters on here, LOVE to hear that it rinses well even in cold water! I like to use homemade laundry soap.. but hate how it doesn’t always rinse out.. Would love to try this! Especially to prevent build up in the fluff stash I am trying to assemble for my little man!


Marion Scharf June 14, 2012 at 9:07 pm

I have heard of Nellie’s but never tried it. I have used a few different Natural detergents for my cloth dipes but I have also had troubles with them dissolving in cold water. I will definitely have to try this one!


Bekah Kuczenski June 15, 2012 at 4:23 am

I would love to try this, I love that you only need 1 tablespoon!


Becky Worthman June 15, 2012 at 5:59 am

Wow, I didn’t know that about the filler in other brands…it would be weird to use just 1Tb. Thanks for the great review!


kristi June 15, 2012 at 7:44 am

Would like to try this product but the shipping is way to high for me. 15$??


Nicole S June 15, 2012 at 7:45 am

I’ve wanted to try Nellie’s since I started cloth diapering 2.5 years ago. Mostly it’s because I think the tin is super cute, but now I know it actually works well too. Thanks for the review!


Kelli A. June 15, 2012 at 9:40 am

Love Nellies! I like that it even works in cold water and can’t complain about the cost. In canada you can now buy it in bulk at Costco which makes it even cheaper!


Rebecca A June 15, 2012 at 11:09 am

Love the packaging! Glad it works in cold water
Rebecca A recently posted..Evidently My Hubby is Giving away My Cloth Diapers on Facebook…My Profile


Julie M. June 15, 2012 at 11:11 am

I love that it is filler free
Julie M. recently posted..Evidently My Hubby is Giving away My Cloth Diapers on Facebook…My Profile


Mary Claybrook June 15, 2012 at 11:16 am

I’d love to win! It would be nice to find a “green” detergent that could get my baby’s diapers really clean!


DeAnna C. June 15, 2012 at 11:22 am

This would be good to try… I am new to cloth diapering and haven’t yet found the best detergent to use.


Melissa H. June 15, 2012 at 12:05 pm

I like the sound of this detergent! It seems pretty affordable, too.


heather c. June 15, 2012 at 6:30 pm

I love the retro look on the package, too!


Amanda Blanco June 15, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Sounds great! And looks affordable. Love that it’s hypoallergenic too!


Alison Miles June 15, 2012 at 8:54 pm

I will try any all natural detergent, as long as it is fragrance free, at least once! The packaging is just too cute!


hayley June 15, 2012 at 8:55 pm

i like how this dissolves well i have a problem with my current soap


beth c June 15, 2012 at 8:59 pm

awesome! i usually use the same cd-safe detergent and would love to find another one that works on cloth diapers and gets my whites clean too!!!


Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: