Solution for Bed-Wetting Problems with your Toddler – Brolly Sheets Review & Giveaway

by Mama Chocolate on May 24, 2012

Our 3 year old Katie has been potty-trained for some time now, and although our nighttime potty training adventures are getting a little less “exciting” than they used to be, we still have the occasional accident at night or during naps, and it seems like we’ll have a week or two where it happens frequently.

Especially as I get bigger in the belly with this baby, changing the sheets on Katie’s twin bed, (a bottom bunk) is getting to be a big pain, and no matter what, if you’re doing it every other night, it’s beyond frustrating to have to completely strip the bed and start over, (especially if the accident happens in the middle of the night!)

I don’t know about you, but changing a complete set of bedding at 3 am is not my idea of fun.

When I heard about the Brolly Sheet, I got excited! It’s a simple solution to the whole bed-wetting issue. This waterproof sheet protector is super absorbent, holding up to half a gallon of liquid, (my toddler has a big bladder, but not THAT big, so we’re covered.) ;-)

The 100% cotton quilted top is comfortable and soft, and there is no crackling or rustling, unlike so many waterproof mattress solutions. The waterproof backing is made from PUL, the same material that is used for modern cloth diapers, and is more breathable, quiet and comfortable than many waterproof mattress covers.

There are five different colors to choose from, (more fun than your standard white mattress protectors!) and they are easy to use. It is recommended to wash the Brolly Sheet before use for softness and best absorbency, (and, good news: you can put it in the dryer, too!) You simply place it on top of the bottom bed sheet and tuck the wings in under the mattress.

While I love the concept of this product, we have had some frustrations with it. About 50% of the time that an accident happens, Katie will have wiggled around so much during the night that she has totally rumpled it up, or even shoved it all the way to the end of the bed, (or decided to sleep under it, like a blanket *sigh*) and the accident wouldn’t completely miss the bed. This is frustrating, because it means the Brolly Sheet is often just making one more piece of laundry for us, not the reverse, as intended, and at $44.95 per sheet, it seems like an iffy investment.

We’re still working on figuring out how best to prevent this, and just simply telling Katie that she needs to leave it alone and sleep on top of it seems to be helping, (she’s a smart kid.) ;-)

Having at least two of these would be best, obviously, so that you can have one on the bed and one possibly in the laundry. They are well-made and I suspect will last through all our kids’ potty-training years, but my more frugal side has a hard time justifying spending that much on a mattress protector that works some of the time. It’s not 100% fail-safe, which means you still need some kind of waterproof mattress pad underneath the sheets, so it’s not like it saves you having to buy something else, and you will still have to wash the complete set of bedding at least occasionally, (at least in our experience.)

When it does work and the accident is completely on the sheet, it is wonderful. It does, indeed, have great absorbency, and it is a cinch to yank off, and…voila! The bed is clean and ready for your kid (and you!) to get comfortable and back to sleep again, no matter what ungodly hour it is.

I can’t tell you how amazing that feeling is, after so many nights of trying, bleary-eyed and half-awake to get all the sheets off and find another set of bedding in the dark (all while trying to not wake up the party-animal 18-month-old in the same little bedroom.)

Brolly Sheets is generously giving one away to one lucky Mama Chocolate reader!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

{ 58 comments… read them below or add one }

Colleen Fuller (mattandcolleen fuller) May 24, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Yes! This would help me! I will have to start potty training soon enough with two! Thanks!


Melissa Ramos May 24, 2012 at 5:10 pm

protect matteress


Laurie May 25, 2012 at 5:20 am

I was wondering what to do when we give up on pull ups at night


Tiffany (As For My House) May 25, 2012 at 5:22 am

We also have those week or so bursts of “more accidents” … but you never know when! LOL!
Tiffany (As For My House) recently posted..Budgeting: A New BeginningMy Profile


Anne May 25, 2012 at 5:29 am

The hardest part of the potty training is vacation and family visits – what if the kids have an accident in someone else’s bed? So, a Brolly sheet would be an easy, portable way to protect the bed.


Gisele Phipps May 25, 2012 at 5:37 am

My granddaughter wants to wear panties to bed and she is doing pretty well, but there are inevitable accidents and a Brolly sheet would make the difference for my overworked daughter to get just a little more rest!


Kelly May 25, 2012 at 5:54 am

This would help me get though the journey by helping alleviate some of the stress of nighttime sheet changes.


Sharayah May 25, 2012 at 7:50 am

Very much so. My three year old has been potty trained for months but is still having wetting problems at night, even through a pull-up. This would help tremendously with night-time clean-ups!


Lien May 25, 2012 at 8:43 am

My toddler is day time potty trained. She is starting to refuse to wear a diaper at night. I have to wait until she fall asleep before putting a diaper on her. I think she is ready to not wear a diaper at night. However, I don’t trust she won’t wet the bed. Having a brolly Sheets will make me confident in her not wearing a diaper at night. Maybe it will help her be more aware of her body without a diaper.


Sadie May 25, 2012 at 9:05 am

I actually wouldn’t use this for my toddler, but for my 81y/o mother who has Alzheimers. :)


laura b May 25, 2012 at 9:13 am

this would be great for my heavy wetter!


Marci H May 25, 2012 at 10:08 am

Wonder if there is a way to pin the corners down so it won’t move? My son is 8 and he still has accidents. We’ve tried pull ups and limiting drinks before bed. Some nights are dry but then we have a few occasional nights when he has an accident.


Mama Chocolate May 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm

I suppose you could use some safety or diaper pins to attach it to the under side of the mattress? That’s a good idea, Marci, I will have to try it out!


Anne Perry May 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm

would be great for “extra” protection during naps and at night.


kindra baron May 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

About to start with my 2yr old daughter & this would save me from awful clean ups!


Amanda N. May 25, 2012 at 1:29 pm

By keeping the mattress clean and making night-time accidents less of a debacle.


Lori Thomas May 25, 2012 at 1:35 pm

extra protection & saving the mattress


Ashley B May 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm

It will help protect DS’s mattress!


Janet W. May 25, 2012 at 7:24 pm

This will help give extra protection for his accidents and not stain his mattress!


Carrie Phelps May 26, 2012 at 8:12 am

We are having the hardest time potty training my three year old grandson. Days are accident filled and forget the nights!


Theresa J May 26, 2012 at 6:30 pm

This would make the morning cleanup so much easier


jenn May 26, 2012 at 8:35 pm

It would save having to do so much laundry


Kerri May 27, 2012 at 10:34 am

so there with being tired of changing all the bedding and we too have a bunk bed. I swear I duck my head, but still manage to bump my head everytime on that bunkbed! UGH! I’ll try anything to help make middle of night changes easier! :)


Katie B. of May 28, 2012 at 3:12 pm

I bet you could attach several binder clips to each short edge of the Brolly sheet, and run an elastic cord between them under the mattress to hold it in place. Just a thought!
Katie B. of recently posted..Recipe: Pasta With Fresh Puttanesca SauceMy Profile


Debbie D. May 30, 2012 at 8:13 am

Being a pastor’s wife we travel a lot. I think it would help with that…you know saving other’s beddings.


Noelle M May 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

We are a little ways away from potty training, but I think one of these would be very useful for keeping cleanup quick!


Stephanie Klemm May 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm

This would be great since we could travel with it. And there is nothing worse than not only having an accident but needing to change sheets in the middle of the night!


Danielle S May 31, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Just like you, I am pregnant and have a child who is at the potty training age! This would save me some extra effort on the occasional bedwetting middle of the night change.


Lara S. May 31, 2012 at 8:20 pm

I love the idea of this and it will be awesome for us since we co-sleep and our son is in the middle of our king-size bed – realllllly not fun at 3am and damn hard to find a decent protector for a big bed.


Paul T / Pauline T June 3, 2012 at 4:45 pm

My 8 y/o still has problem holding in her urine until she wakes up in the morning so this would great for her because it would be her “new” security blanket – emscout9 at Hotmail dot com


Paul T / Pauline T June 3, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Followed on Pinterest…( Paul T / Pauline T … pls use emscout9 at hotmail dot com instead of gmail to contact me)


Amanda Alvarado June 3, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Well dd is potty trained so this would help with the occasional accident that always seems to happen smack in the middle of the week when mommy doesn’t usually do laundry!


Leann L June 4, 2012 at 4:49 pm

This would definitely help at night to protect the mattress in case of an accident.


christine jessamine June 10, 2012 at 11:32 am

this would help tremendously with easier clean up!


Kristy Bodle June 11, 2012 at 7:16 am

It would help a lot. We are just starting the potting training. I wet the bed for a long time when I was little. This would help so I could go back to bed fast.


Kristy B June 11, 2012 at 7:18 am

It would help a lot. We are just starting the potting training. I wet the bed for a long time when I was little. This would help so I could go back to bed fast. Thanks


DesiRae Zabel June 11, 2012 at 10:59 pm



Jamie Martin June 11, 2012 at 11:03 pm

This would make nighttime clean ups easier!


Tia Wallner June 11, 2012 at 11:04 pm

This would help with the late night bed wetting because it would be easier and quicker to remove..back to sleep faster! No worries :)


Tamara June 11, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Honestly, I’m kind of scared to potty train a boy. With my daughter it was SO easy. I think this would help ease some of my ‘oh crap are we going to be up all night doing laundry and bathing a kid’ fears. It’s worth a shot and I figure, even if it works some of the time it’s still one less load of laundry for me.
Tamara recently posted..Diaper Cakes from Diaper Cakewalk {Review & Giveaway}My Profile


Mary June 11, 2012 at 11:24 pm

We will start potty training soon and this would be so helpful, especially in the middle of the night.


michelle parker June 11, 2012 at 11:43 pm

hi i want one infact i’ll take 2 please they will help me


Deidre June 12, 2012 at 12:26 am

This is crazy, because my daughter is 9 and still urinates on herself every night, this would help me out A LOT!!


Kristin June 12, 2012 at 3:40 am

That’s one of the hardest things, washing sheets everyday! I’d love to skip that!


Erin D June 12, 2012 at 4:12 am

I hate washing sheets everyday. I’m 9 months pregnant and it takes a toll on me :)


Delphie Thielen June 12, 2012 at 5:58 am

We use smaller (and much cheaper) ones for my 5 year olds who still occasionally spring a leak. I think the bigger one might stay in place better than the ones we have now at least! Also, my 2 yr old is about ready to start being a “big boy!”


Holly June 12, 2012 at 6:13 am

It would save the whole change the sheets routine and waking everyone up


Marci H June 12, 2012 at 6:26 am

My son is still waking up on occasional nights wet. This would help ease the burden of changing the sheets so often when he does.


christina skinner June 12, 2012 at 10:21 am

My baby is 20 months and we’re going to start potty training in a few months. This would save the mattress for sure and be more comfortable for her to sleep on then the typical plastic covers.


jennifer brown June 12, 2012 at 11:49 am

it would make me not have to search the house for sheets at 3 in the morning


Shawna Johnsen June 13, 2012 at 8:43 am

Wow, I need this!!! Cleaning the mattress everyday is wearing me down!


Tara C June 13, 2012 at 8:47 am

It would help me not have to clean the mattress soo much with 2 toddlers that still have accidents!


ANGIE MOELLER June 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

I am just starting this journey with my daughter so any help is appreciated!


Nicky June 13, 2012 at 9:07 am

During our stay with our 7 year old daughter at her orphanage in haiti we learned she wets the bed. A lot of the children do for multiple reasons ( no bathroom, need to stay in locked room at night for safety reasons,health issues and more) and this would be a perfect way for when she comes home to help her not feel like a “baby” and embarrassed as she already faces other issues of culture shock and leaving everything she knows.
Nicky recently posted..Birthday BlessingsMy Profile


Tabitha @ A Restful Place June 13, 2012 at 10:52 am

We’ll be starting our potty training journey soon! :)
Tabitha @ A Restful Place recently posted..Blogger Sign Ups – Free to Join Bunkbed Giveaway!My Profile


Toby June 13, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Every child needs this during this phase…it saves the mattress!


Rebekah Keiser June 13, 2012 at 4:25 pm

This would help ease the stress of late night sheet changes. I too have a child who sleeps all over the bed so I am interested to see if it would stay in place.


Lisa L June 13, 2012 at 5:10 pm

I’d love to have this so when my son wears underwear in bed, if he has accidents, he wont make a mess


Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: